Getting ready for the CSA; mustard greens

Since mustard greens are on the huge grow list for our farm, I thought I’d try cooking some up before the bushels start coming in so I have a recipe ready to go. I’ve never even tried mustard greens before, and wow, a little bite raw tells you what they are, no question. A very nice mustard flavor, though a little bitter, which made the reasoning behind their seemingly always being served cooked (at least in quantity) clear. Most recipes I found recommended wilting them in a load of bacon fat, which, while tasty I’m sure, wasn’t exactly what I was looking for. I ended up dicing about 1/2 cup of onions, sauteing those in maybe 2 tablespoons of sunflower oil until translucent. I then added several dashes of Worcestershire sauce, then the washed greens themselves (sans most of the stems), a bunch at a time until they all fit in the pan. Cooked continually on low-med heat until they looked done (like cooked spinach.) Tasty, though I’m thinking I may be the only one in my family that thinks that, so I’ll no doubt be putting down a lot of mustard greens this summer.

Leave a Reply

