Spreading the word

While I’m teaching exercise classes I’ll occasionally mention things that are going on in my life, which has included the upcoming CSA season, homemade laundry soap (more on that later), and foraging for food (morels, violets). Last week I did a demo class for a class member and some of her friends, and she was very sweet and brought me some gardening gloves, card, and a plant to thank me (which she didn’t have to do and was completely unexpected, so it was a great surprise!) The plant was in a biodegradable pot by Earth Essentials from Ball Horticultural Company, which she said she got specifically because of the things I had mentioned in class. It’s amazing and wonderful how people will pick up on things like that, with the result of joining in on protecting the environment. Unfortunately, I have what I call a “brown thumb”…I try with the plants, again and again, with not a whole lot of success. I’ve even had hostas go bad on me! However, indoor plants have worked out OK, so I’m giving it my best with this one.

Leave a Reply

