Morels in cream sauce

Usually we just cook up the morels in lots of butter and eat them with a good steak or scrambled with eggs. Since we had a fairly good haul this year, I decided to experiment. I fried the morels in butter, just a few (5 or 6 large ones) halved, added white wine and chicken broth I had saved from a dish I made yesterday, then when it reduced I added a little cream, a little goat cheese in pieces (maybe 1 ounce?), and freshly ground salt and pepper. (I never measure….which can cause me problems on the repeat making!) I then added cubed chicken breast (same chicken as from where the broth came), to simmer for a short while, then tossed with pasta. It turned out well…everything was infused with the taste of morels. I often experiment, but not often with morels, as we have so few to work with. I’m glad to report this was a success….my husband, the resident morel expert, loved it.

Leave a Reply

